You should be aware that even if you are charged with a first-offense DWI in the state of New York, your license will be suspended for a period of time. Depending on the circumstances, you could face jail time. In addition to license suspension, your case could include a serious accident or child. However, if you have a clean driving record, you are less likely to receive jail time.
Besides jail time and fines, New York has different penalties for first-time DWIs and DWAIs. These penalties differ depending on the severity and frequency of the crime. It is important to discuss your case with a DWI-defense lawyer to find out the best course of action. While most first-time offenders will receive a license suspension, others will face higher insurance rates.
A DWI conviction can also have consequences on your life after your case is resolved. You may lose your job. While your employer may offer some leniency, you will likely not have the luxury of a long absence or tardiness. It is important to seek legal help as soon as possible to protect your future. If you have been arrested for a DWI, you will have to attend a Victim Impact Program and complete an Impaired Driver Course. You will have to pay for these courses, but you may not have to.
What are the consequences of a first-time DWI in New York? If you are caught drinking and driving after consuming alcohol, you will be facing a court date in New York. Depending on the circumstances, you may be eligible to attend a state-approved Impaired Driver Program. If you are unable to complete this program in New York, you can complete it in another state. The New York Department of Motor Vehicles order will indicate the nearest state or county motor vehicle office.
If you have a history of alcohol-related driving offenses, your first-offense DWI will be more severe than a second-offense DWI. Your license will be suspended for six months and you may be required to participate in an Impaired Driver Program. Your insurance premium will likely rise if you get convicted of a first-offense DWI in New York.
The penalties for first-time DWI offenders are severe, with fines between $500 and $1000, jail time, and a suspended license for six months. You can lose your commercial license, as well. A minor violating zero-tolerance law may face a fine of $125 and an additional fee of $100 to regain their license. This surcharge, however, is not permanent.
Your first-offense DWI in New York will have the same harsh penalties as a second-offense DWI. The judge will likely require you to undergo a series of field sobriety tests to determine if you are legally intoxicated. The officer may ask you to repeat the alphabet, walk in a straight line, or take a Breathalyzer test. In any event, knowing your defenses will help you defend your driving privileges.